Postcard captures the third and fourth Mecklenburg County Courthouses. On the right is the third courthouse that was located at Church and Trade Streets. Each of the tall, white columns were made from a single pine tree then stuccoed after being milled. It gave the appearance of marble. When the courthouse was torn down, no one recalled this fact, and the workers were surprised to discover perfectly preserved trees beneath the stucco. It was torn down in 1898.
On the left is the fourth courthouse that is still located on East Trade Street. It opened in 1897.