You are here

Courthouses

Fourth Courthouse & Law Building

This postcard depicts the Fourth Mecklenburg County Courthouse that was built in 1897, the Independence Monument and the Law Building. Physical Description: 3x5 color Publisher: S H Kress

Fifth Mecklenburg County Courthouse

The fifth Mecklenburg County Courthouse is located at 700 East Trade Street. Built at a cost of one million dollars, it first opened in 1928. Physical Description: 3x5 Publisher: E. C. Kropp Company

Fifth Mecklenburg County Courthouse

The fifth Mecklenburg County Courthouse is located at 700 East Trade Street. Built at a cost of one million dollars, it first opened in 1928. Physical Description: 3x5 Publisher: Dixie News Company

Fifth Mecklenburg County Courthouse

The fifth Mecklenburg County Courthouse is located at 700 East Trade Street. Built at a cost of one million dollars, it first opened in 1928. Physical Description: 3x5 Publisher: Dixie News Company

Fifth Mecklenburg County Courthouse

The fifth Mecklenburg County Courthouse is located at 700 East Trade Street. Built at a cost of one million dollars, it first opened in 1928.The Fifth Mecklenburg County Courthouse is located on West Trade Street. Physical Description: 3x5 Publisher: Dixie News Company

Mecklenburg County Courthouse

The Mecklenburg County Courthouse and the Lawyers Building . Physical Description: 3x5 Publisher: HC Leighton Manufacturers

Fourth Mecklenburg County Courthouse

The fourth courthouse in Charlotte was completed after the Civil War at a cost of $50,000. From a postcard series Number 2349 by Raphael Tuck and Sons Physical Description: 3x5 Publisher: Raphael Tuck and Sons

Third Mecklenburg County Courthouse

The Third Courthouse was located at Church and Trade Streets. Each of the tall, white columns were made from a single pine tree then stuccoed after being milled. It gave the appearance of marble. When the courthouse was torn down, no one recalled this fact, and the workers were surprised to discover perfectly preserved trees beneath the stucco. It was torn down in 1898. Physical Description: 3x5 Publisher: Souvenier Postcard Company