You are here

1774 - Backcountry Politics

December 1774 - Colonists hold meetings and agree they will refuse to buy any more British goods. This refusal, called a boycott, further shows the British rulers that the settlers are determined to win independence. In Charlotte, citizens select a Committee of Safety, five men who will help carry out the boycott and inform citizens of its results. The men are John McKnitt Alexander, Abraham Alexander, Hezekiah Alexander, Thomas Polk and Ephraim Brevard.