You are here

1860 - Secession

December 20, 1860 - South Carolina declares it is no longer part of the United States! Next month, six other Southern states soon follow. Those who leave, or secede, join together and form the Confederate States of America, or C.S.A. They no longer believe in the U.S. government. For the time being, North Carolina remains in the Union.