You are here

1781 - Articles of Confederation

All thirteen states ratify the Articles of Confederation which calls for a firm league of friendship between states. However, each state remains sovereign and independent. Congress continues to manage foreign affairs, determine currency, regulate the postal services and other services, but they could not regulate commerce or raise money or enlist troops directly. Eventually serious problems arise.