Law and Government

City Hall Tryon Street Charlotte North Carolina
Charlotte is the county seat of Mecklenburg County. Lawyers present cases before judges at the local courthouse. The city police force goes back to 1866 with an Intendent (Superintendent) and eight patrolmen. The four wards of Charlotte elect an alderman to represent them and help make decisions for the city. They are responsible for creating funds for street improvements, the schools, the fire and police department, the library and other city departments. The Mecklenburg county Commissioners date back to 1868 and they have the same responsibilities for the county as the Board of Alderman has for the city.